Roast Pork Makeover!

January 6, 2011

 

 

I always try my best to make a lavish banquet for Christmas whether celebrating it with friends or just for my own. But sadly (not exactly! I did enjoy myself preparing and feasting the meal) I have been celebrating it alone (actually with my dog) the last couple of years!

I spent the whole day before Christmas making a decorative harvest bread, few jars of cranberry jam, a dozen of Irish-cream-chocolate-cranberry biscotti. The main dish for Christmas was a rack of roast pork marinated with spices and roast root/ vegetable. Delicious the tender juicy pork! (Though it looked burnt in the photos!)

With all the food just for myself (and the dog), I only managed to have a big slice of the roast pork.

 

Having said so much about the Christmas banquet, the main focus for this posting should be about how to make use of the leftover roast pork! This makeover stir-fried roast pork (with a Chinese twist) is even tastier than its “previous life“!

Ingredients:

  1. Roast pork (skinned and cut into chunks)
  2. 4 leeks (sliced)
  3. Few cloves of garlic (minced)
  4. 2 tbsp Light soy sauce (to taste)
  5. A touch of dark soy sauce (optional) (to give a slight caramelised look/taste to the dish)
  6. 1-2 tbsp oil
  7. Few tbsp of water (depending on how much sauce you want to have for the dish)

Simply fry the leeks and garlic in the oil until soften and slightly discoloured. Add the light soy sauce, and fry for 1 minutes, stir in the pork and and dark soy sauce, cook for few minutes to heat throughly and caramelise the pork pieces. Sprinkle the water over the pork, and cook to reduce the water slightly. Done!

Serves hot with steamed rice…mmmmm…..

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Roast Pork Makeover!”

  1. Joy Says:

    I love the simplicity of this meal, yet it is so flavourful because of the leeks. Great way to change up last night’s dinner, too! I’m looking forward to making this!

  2. Chris Says:

    The photos are great….make me really hungry.

  3. My Says:

    That looks delicious. That’s great to be a dog in your house…


Leave a Reply

