Fish in Coke Zero Batter!

April 20, 2010

It has been a frustrating day at work today. Went to the supermarket just now with the intention of getting various different colours of food to make a cheerful dinner for one. Also I think I should try to eat healthily today for a small change.

Very colourful…My five-a-day for today!

The fish mix was supposed to be for a fish stew that I intend to make, but after spreading out all these wonderful colour of vegetables on the kitchen table , I thought deep-fried fish in Coke Zero batter would be a better combinations. Yes! Coke Zero! Well, that was the only fizzy drink I have at home, and I suspect it will not taste strange…since we often have fish and chips with Coke! ;)

A bit mad!

Ingredients: Salad:

Use various colourful diced vegetable for this salad such as cucumber, beetroot, yellow pepper, tomatoes, onion, chives. Dress the vegetable with some olive oil, salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Ingredients: Deep-fried Fish:

  1. A package of mix fish chunks (usually ready cut for fish stew)
  2. 1/2 cup plain flour
  3. Cayenne pepper (to taste)
  4. Dried mint (to taste)
  5. Salt (to taste)
  6. 1/2 cup Coke Zero
  7. 1 egg
  8. Generous amount of oil

Mix all ingredients in a bowl (without the fish though!).

Heat the oil in a deep pan, enough to a cover the fish. Dip the fish in the batter, and put it into the hot oil and deep fry for a few minutes until the batter is just slightly yellow (the fish should be just cooked and tender), drain the excess oil with a piece of kitchen paper. Serve the deep-fried fish with the salad and roast sweet potato wedges.

Note: Unfortunately the batter for the fish wasn’t as crispy as those from the fish and chips shop! But never mind!!

8 Responses to “Fish in Coke Zero Batter!”

  1. Chef Dennis Says:

    great looking batter! your selection of vegetables is perfect!

  2. Tie Says:

    Very tempting !

    Colourful food excites me ! :)

  3. Pierre Says:

    cayenne coke mint and egg. You have some serious palate there. I dont think this is wrong at all. Yum!

  4. kokloongw Says:

    I am a bit crazy! Now I am thinking about soft drinks flavoured deep-fried fish!

  5. Mary Says:

    I found your blog by chance and peeked in just to say hello. My eye was lured to the next post and then the one that followed it. Needless to say, I was here for a while. I really loved what I saw and will be back often to see what else you have conjured up. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

    • kokloongw Says:

      Mary,
      It is really nice to hear your nice words about my blog, make me wants to do more and cook even more crazier things!

      Have a great day….

      Loong

  6. Lazaro Says:

    The fish looks incredibly crispy. Great idea with the coke zero batter. Fantastic dish! Cheers!

  7. ALexandra Says:

    Brilliant! Sometimes we have to make do with what we have and that’s when we create our most interesting dishes!!


Leave a Reply

